User Management

Managing user access

Bizztracker has a role based access management logic. That means that the authorisation to view, add, delete and update certain objects is linked to its role. There are four roles defines in bizztracker:

  • The community manager who can manage the community parameters.
  • The portfolio manager who can manage the portfolios for which he is the owner.
  • The project manager who can manage the projects for which he is responsible.
  • A read-only user who can see all public projects and portfolios.

During the invitation process, a user was assigned a role. To learn more about how to invite a user, follow this link.

The following activities are described below:

  • Changing the role of a user
  • Removing access of a user
  • Granting access for a specific project
  • Granting access for a specific portfolio

Changing the role of a user

When a user should get a different role, the community manager can change the role for this user. Go to the Community menu and select the tab User. Click the button “Grant access to existing user” to give the user a different role than he currently has.

Select the user, select his new role and optionally, enter a start and end date to indicate the period in which the user gets this role. Suppose the user need to replace a project manager for a specific period, then this start and end date come in very handy. Click “Apply changes” when ready.

Next to the initial role that the user had, he now got an additional role assigned to him. In case you want to remove its initial role, follow the instructions below.

Removing access of a user

Go to the users list in the Community tab. Select the role of the user and click the “bin” icon. Confirm that you want to remove this specific access for the selected user.

Granting access for a specific project

In case a user who is not a project manager of a project, needs access to a project to update it or to be able to view the project (in case it is private), go to the specific project and select the tab “Access”. Click the button “Share Project”.

Now you can select the user that should have access to this project. Select his role (editor or reader) and optionally a start and end date that defines the validity of this access. Click Save when ready.

Granting access for a specific portfolio

In case a user who is not a portfolio manager of a specific portfolio, needs access to the portfolio to update it or to be able to view the portfolio (in case it is private), go to the specific portfolio and select the tab “Access”. Click the button “Share Portfolio”.

Now you can select the user that should have access to this portfolio. Select his role (editor or reader) and optionally a start and end date that defines the validity of this access. Click Save when ready.